Deactivating and reactivating user accounts

Chris Horroll
Chris Horroll
  • Updated

You can easily deactivate and reactivate a users account on Alto. You might look to do this when a staff member leaves the business or goes on maternity leave. 

 Note

You will need access to System Administration, to edit your default settings. Your appointed Group Administrator will have access to these permissions

This article includes: 

Deactivating a user account

User accounts in Alto cannot be deleted but they can be deactivated, thus freeing up a user licence.

 Note

Before deactivating a users account, you should ensure that any diary appointments belonging to that user are transferred to another member of staff. To do this:

  1. Click Diary on the main toolbar
  2. Within the Available Diaries section, click Branch Diaries
  3. Select the required branch from the Branch dropdown menu
  4. Set Style to Resource View from the dropdown menu
  5. On the column of the user you are going to make inactive, click and drag their appointments to another users column
  6. Click Yes to confirm

To deactivate a user account:

  1. Click Tools on the main toolbar
  2. In the dropdown menu, click Templates and admin
  3. On the side menu, under System Tools, click System Administration
  4. Click Group Users
  5. Click Edit next to the user you want to deactivate
  6. Scroll down and change their Status to Inactive
  7. Click Save

Reactivating a user account

  1. Click Tools on the main toolbar
  2. In the dropdown menu, click Templates and admin
  3. On the side menu, under System Tools, click System Administration
  4. Click Group Users
  5. Click Edit next to the user you want to reactivate
  6. Scroll down and change their Status to Active
  7. Click Save

 Warning

Remember to assign group roles to the user, otherwise, the user will not be able to log in to Alto

 Note

If you have no licenses available, an error message appears. For help with arranging additional licenses, complete the form here.

Related articles: 

How do I unlock a user account?