Restricting the IP addresses that can access Alto

If you wish to prevent users from logging in when they are not in the office, you can use static IP addresses to facilitate this. Entering static IP addresses will prevent laptops, home computers and mobile devices being used to access alto.

To use this feature, you will first need to set up all the IP addresses per branch from which users will be allowed to log in. Restrictions can then be assigned to individual users. If you don't wish to use this option, take no action and no IP address restrictions will be applied.

  1. Click Tools on the main toolbar
  2. On the side menu, under System Tools, click System Administration
  3. Click Branches
  4. Click Edit alongside the relevant branch
  5. Scroll to the bottom and click Allowed IP Addresses
    1. You can use the keyboard shortcut of Ctrl+F on a PC (Cmd + F on a Mac) and type in allowed IP addresses
  6. Enter each IP address that will be allowed access to Alto and click Add
    1. Continue until you have added all the IP address you wish to add

 Note

If you edit the IP address after it has been added and saved, the Save button will change to red to remind you to save the changes

You can also remove any records using the Delete button that appears, once an entry has been created

Once all IP addresses have been added, you will need to apply restrictions on the individual users.

  1. Click Tools on the main toolbar
  2. On the side menu, under System Tools, click System Administration
  3. Click Group Users
  4. Click Edit alongside the relevant user
  5. In their record, you'll see a new tick box, Login Restricted by IP Address. Tick this box to restrict the user to IP addresses in the Allowable IP Addresses lists, for any and all branches to which they belong
  6. Click Save

Login box message

Once the above steps have been taken, any user who has the Login Restricted by IP Address box ticked who attempts to log in from a non-approved IP address will be presented with a message on the login box:

blobid0.png

 Note

If a user has full Administrator access to Alto, any restrictions added to that user will be overridden. This ensures that if no one can login, there will always be at least one Admin user who can log in and restore access

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful