If you have the Property Management module enabled and a customer sends in a 'Right to Erasure' request, you're able to delete their individual information that you hold on record.

 Warning

  • There is NO reversal of this action.  You must be clear that you wish to delete the contact record before proceeding. As your software provider we can take no responsibility for data that is removed in error
  • If you use Alto Property Management, please note the differences between the Alto Residential function and the Alto Property Management function

 Note

Before deleting records, please note that if there are two people listed on a contact record, you'll have to delete them both

To understand your customer’s ‘right to be forgotten’, we recommend using the ICO’s website.  This also has information about your right (as an Estate Agent) to refuse a customer's right to be forgotten, for example when you need to retain data for legal/regulatory requirements. 

This article includes: 

Deleting Contacts records

  1. Click Contacts on the main toolbar
  2. Select the relevant contact from Recent & Favourite Contacts
    1. Alternatively, find the contact using the Search Contacts bar in the top right
  3. Click Actions
  4. In the dropdown menu, click Delete
    • When using the Delete action, Alto will honour a setting in Tools>System Administration>Group Settings called Accounting Retention Period (in years). 
      When set to 0, no check will be made for accounting transactions.  You will be warned that you have set this to 0 when you select the action, but you will still be able to proceed
  5. A warning message appears, and on first viewing, you'll have a 10 second countdown to allow you sufficient time to read the full message



  6. The Proceed button will be unavailable when the message is first presented. After the delay, the Proceed button will be available for use
    • The first bullet point The contact information does not need to be retained for any legal requirement would include, for example, the need to conform to Anti-Money Laundering checks or Ombudsman Complaints
  7. Proceed to delete the contact records (steps outlined after the below information)

If you hold accounting transactions for a person within Alto, and you delete them (because the Accounting Retention Period setting is 0), you will not be able to retrieve this data when requested by the HMRC.

When set to 0, a check will be made for accounting transactions.  If you have selected a record that has accounting transactions which fall within the number of years set, you will be prevented from proceeding.

If you then click Ok, the screen will close and the contact won’t have been deleted.

You may want to feedback your decision to the person who requested their data to be removed.
For more information on this, click here.

If you refuse to delete the record, you may wish to change some settings on the Contacts record to ensure that you don’t contact them during the period you retain their data.  You could:

  • In the Contact top tab, remove their E-Mail address
  • In the Preference Centre top tab, change all consent flags to Denied consent
  • In the Contact and Position top tabs, change their Intention to Not Looking and their Position to Not Specified
  • In Contact on the side menu, remove their Requirements Search Profile from matches
  • In the Contact top tabs, add Contact Notes to indicate they requested a deletion but that this was refused

When the Accounting Retention Period setting is set to 0 but less than 7, a check will be made for accounting transactions but only for the number of years that you have set in the field.  The warning message will display the value set:

Proceed to delete the contact records

  1. Click Proceed to delete the contact records
  2. A confirmation message appears in the top right of the screen stating Contact successfully deleted. The Contacts record will be deleted, and the Contacts Overview screen will be presented to you like this:

  • All other tabs have been removed and therefore you will not be able to identify the person. You will not be able to use any of the action menus or buttons
  • If you search for this person, they will not appear in any search results

If the person had made an offer on a property or had attended a viewing for example, you could still locate the record via the respective property, but the details would be anonymised to prevent the person involved being identified.  

User permissions

The permission to use the Delete action will automatically be given upon deployment to anyone with the GroupAdministrator role.   

To give this permission to any other user:

  1. Click Tools on the main toolbar
  2. On the side menu, under System Tools, click System Administration
  3. Click Group Roles
  4. Click Edit next to the relevant group
  5. Add the new permission called DeletePersonData (if it isn't already added)
  6. Click Save

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful